Ninie Hammon Delivers the 4th and Final Installment in the Cornbread Mafia Series

So Shall The Tree Grow by Ninie Hammon

Ninie Hammon fans are in for a treat because Ninie has delivered the goods with this fourth and final installment in the Cornbread Mafia series in a way that only Ninie Hammon can. After spanning multiple generations and nearly five decades, this final book brings the timeline up to the present day when marijuana has finally been legalized in a number of states … but still not Kentucky.

Family loyalties, deadly feuds, and international drug wars are brought to life in Ninie Hammon’s new intergenerational tale set in present-day Kentucky, four decades after the rise and fall of the Cornbread Mafia.

When Ruth Hannacker finds a “just-in-case-anything-happens-to-me” letter among her mother’s things after she was killed in a tornado, it opens a new chapter in the family’s decades-long, fraught, and often tragic story with Righteous Weed. 

The letter from Jessica Monaghan Hannacker tells of the Tree House, a propane tank buried in the ground where Willie Ray Taggart stashed his marijuana money back in the heyday of the Cornbread Mafia. When Ruth finds the Tree House, she discovers $75,000 in cash and quart jars of Righteous Weed seed, the finest strain of marijuana ever developed. 

Over the protests of 72-year-old Riley Hannacker, the only remaining living member of the original Cornbread Mafia, the family decides to grow an indoor crop, illegal in Kentucky, so they can patent the strain and get a license to grow in one of the 11 newly legal states. They plan to market it as a premium boutique cannabis, appealing to the nostalgia of the smokers’ first-time high. 

But as so often happens with the best-laid plans, things quickly go awry. Jealousy, resentment, anger, greed, and deeply buried feelings from long gone wrongs resurface and wreak havoc with what is left of the family.

So Shall The Tree Grow is the fourth and final book in Ninie Hammon’s new Cornbread Mafia series, a fictional story inspired by the real Cornbread Mafia that sprang up in picturesque Marion County, Kentucky, and grew into the largest illegal marijuana-growing operation in U.S. history.

About The Author

Ninie Hammon (rhymes with shiny, not skinny) grew up in Muleshoe, Texas. After a 25-year career as a journalist she figured out that making up facts was a whole lot more fun than reporting them, she turned to fiction and never looked back.

Ninie now writes suspense–every flavor except pistachio: psychological suspense, inspirational suspense, suspense thrillers, paranormal suspense, suspense mysteries.

In every book she keeps this promise to her Loyal Reader: “I will tell you a story in a distinctive voice you’ll always recognize, about people as ordinary as you are–people who have been slammed by something they didn’t sign on for, and now they must fight for their lives. Then smack in the middle of their everyday worlds, those people encounter the unexplainable–and it’s always the game-changer.”

Imprint: Sterling & Stone
On sale: January 20, 2023
eBook Price: $2.99
Pages: 243
ISBN: 9798215863268

For more information contact:

Jen Turrell Publicity at Sterling & Stone
[email protected]